Mocha Coconut Oats

I’m not a huge fan of coconut, but when I bought coconut extract for my mom, the smell was just too irresistible. I knew I had to immediately incorporate in to my oats. So after a somewhat successful experiment with my Cinnamon Streusel Oats, I decided to play around the coffee theme again, and added coconut extract.

New Image3

The verdict: amazing.

New Image2

Oat Base:

-1/2 c rolled oats

-1 c brewed coffee of choice

-packet/1 serving of stevia OR 3 drops dark chocolate stevia drops (NOTE: add 1 tbs dark cocoa powder if using regular stevia to make it “mocha”)

-1/4 tsp coconut extract

-optional: 1 pump Starbucks vanilla pump

-optional: 1/4 tsp cinnamon

Yogurt Base:

-yogurt of choice (I use Trader Joe’s plain nonfat Greek yogurt)

-packet/1 serving stevia if using plain yogurt

-optional: chia seeds

Optional Nut Butter Topping:

I use Protein Plus Peanut Flour from iherb.com. You can use my discount code JJK218 for $10 off your first order. I use this because you can play around with different flavors, and the serving size is 1/4 cup. Not only that, but it has 4g of fat, and 16g of protein! It’s made purely of roasted peanuts.

For this flavor of oats, I mixed it with 3 drops dark chocolate stevia drops, and very scant 1/8 tsp coconut extract.

New Image1

Directions:

Combine oat base ingredients in a medium/large bowl. Microwave for 1:30, mix. Microwave for :30, mix. If the oats have not puffed up a little by then, microwave for another :10-:15 sec. There should still be a layer of liquid. While the oats cook, mix together the yogurt base in a (MINIMUM) pint-sized jar. Add your chia seeds on top, if using. Place yogurt mixture in the fridge while the oats cool and soak up some of the liquid. Once cooled, pour the oats into the pint-sized jar with the yogurt. Mix all together with a spoon, or shake vigorously (it’s a nice workout)! Put the lid on and store in fridge overnight. Top with bananas, cinnamon, and/or  nut butter!

New Image

Leave a comment