The DOUGHbar DOUGHnuts Review

Marquez and Ondrea, the founders of The Dough Bar Doughnuts were kind enough to send me some of their doughnuts to try out! They’ve always been the sweetest to me, and I can tell they carry that through with all their customers and doughtnuts!

They handcraft each doughnut, so you know you’re getting fresh quality doughnuts when they arrive. They even put the baking date on the information sheet.

IMG_3767

Included was also these super cute cards that I immediately pinned on my cork board in my room.

IMG_3765

When I first tried The Doughbar a while ago, I wasn’t sure what to expect since they’re protein doughnuts. Sure they looked good on their Instagram, but how good can protein doughnuts be after being brought up with Krispy Kremes?

IMG_3768a

Really good. Actually so good I almost don’t need real doughnuts anymore. Almost.

IMG_3764a

The doughnut itself has a great sweet cinnamon taste. By itself it tastes amazing, but of course, the glazes they offer are absolutely delicious as well!

IMG_3773a

They come out with new ones all the time so make sure to look out for those. I’ve tried Reese’s, a strawberry glaze, and a couple others. I was definitely very excited to try out these new flavors.

IMG_3781

These glazes were the s’mores and PB & J. The PB & J was more “J” than “PB,” but it still tasted great because the glaze was sweeter. The s’mores was super tasty though! The glaze in combination with the marshmallows, graham cracker dust, and chocolate chips made for the perfect treat. It really tasted like a s’mores, especially when you heat it all up.

IMG_3794

Next I tried the s’mores glaze with chocolate goldfish, and cookie butter glaze with chunks of a chocolate coated peanut butter Squarebar. The s’mores glaze paired with the chocolate goldish ended up being the tastiest chocolate treat. The crunch from the goldfish added nice texture as well in combination with the softer doughnut. The cookie butter was kind of more like a generic sweet glaze, with a little warmth added because of the spices. Really tasty overall, but my favorite was still the s’mores glaze!

IMG_3824

Lastly, I tried the cake batter one. This one took me straight back to my childhood. One of my best friends and I would always wake up to the smell of freshly baked Krispy Kremes that her mom would bring us whenever I had sleepovers at her house. And I kid you not, these tasted very similar to those. The cake batter glaze was perfectly sweet and contributed to that fact. Now it also might be because I haven’t had Krispy Kremes in a long time, but if you follow my Instagram, you know that I’ve had my fair share of doughnuts lately so I wouldn’t consider myself a total doughnut noob.

I would definitely recommend The Doughbar to anyone. They have “competition prep friendly doughnuts”, “cheat day doughnuts“, and “everyday doughnuts” available so you can match them according to your goals.

 

 

 

Leave a comment